Board of Directors

SHPA is governed by a Board comprising seven elected directors and three appointed directors, supported by seven state and territory branches, Specialty Practice streams and other reference and advisory groups.

Nominations are now open for Board Director positions from Tasmania and Western Australia

Board Executive

Peter Fowler (President) is Specialist Pharmacist – Critical Care at the Launceston General Hospital (LGH), a position he returned to in 2017 after a five years as the Statewide Clinical Lead for eMM projects in Tasmania. As Clinical Lead, Peter headed the implementation of a number of projects including introducing electronic prescribing in outpatient clinics across the state. Prior to this Peter managed clinical pharmacy services at LGH and has been the Director of Pharmacy at the now-Mersey Community Hospital. Holding honorary academic positions with the Faculty of Health Science, University of Tasmania, Peter collaborated in establishing a physician-pharmacist lead teaching model for medical students as well as an experiential rural emergency medicine teaching program for pharmacy and medical students. Peter has been a member of the SHPA for over 30 years, served on the Tasmanian Branch Committee for 18 years, was the convener of the 2001 Federal Conference and one of the first Australian Pharmacists to achieve BPS accreditation in Pharmacotherapy.

Dr Jacinta Johnson (Vice-President) is Lecturer in Pharmacy, University of South Australia and Senior Pharmacist – Research, SA Pharmacy. Jacinta brings experience in clinical education, in primary healthcare working in with Drug and Alcohol Services, and in community pharmacy. Jacinta is passionate about supporting early career pharmacists to experience rewarding careers that have a meaningful impact upon community health, and her contributions have been recognised through the SHPA PL Jeffs Early Career Pharmacist Award (2017), the PSA Early Career Pharmacist of the Year award (2018) and the SHPA Early Career Pharmacist of the Year award (2019).

David Brennan (Treasurer) is an experienced investment banking executive and company Director across financial, resources and healthcare sectors. With degrees in Business Law and Finance, David has a wealth of contemporary leadership experience as well as an entrepreneurial commitment to social causes: David was the founding Chairman of the Dry July Foundation, the Australian Corporate Ambassador to UNICEF and an advisory board member at the ATO representing the not-for-profit sector.

Board of Directors

David Butt has several decades’ experience as CEO and many more as an executive across the health system, in policy, planning, purchasing and providing services, at national, state and regional levels. Organisations to have benefited from David’s leadership have often been diverse, complex and geographically dispersed. Based in Brisbane, David is currently National CEO of mental health organisation GROW Australia and has been Deputy Secretary of the Australian Department of Health and CEO of the National Mental Health Commission, Little Company of Mary Health Care (the Calvary group), Australian General Practice Network, ACT Department of Health and Community Care, and the National Rural Health Alliance.

Lindsay Cane brings experience as a seasoned CEO and Director to SHPA, having led national and state health agencies, sporting organisations, not-for-profit and private sector businesses. Lindsay is currently CEO of the Royal Far West, which provides specialist medical care and allied health support services for children in remote NSW, a member of the NSW Ministerial Advisory Committee for Rural Health, and non-Executive Director of the Confederation of Australian Sport and Australian Masters Games, having also led Netball Australia and a private communications consultancy.

Deirdre Criddle is Complex Care Coordinator/Pharmacist at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital in Western Australia. One of the first pharmacists in Australia to be credentialed as an Advanced Practice Pharmacist, Deirdre brings expertise in medication management across care transitions to the role, which is embedded within an interdisciplinary Complex Needs Coordination Team (CoNeCT). Deirdre is also a former Chair and current member of SHPA's Primary Care and Transitions of Care Leadership Committee. In 2012, Deirdre was awarded the Pharmaceutical Society of Western Australia’s Eric Kirk award and the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia’s Australian Pharmacist of the Year award. In 2013, she received Australian Association of Consultant Pharmacy’s Consultant Pharmacist of the Year honour.

Paul Firman is the Assistant Director of Pharmacy (Cancer Care Services) at the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital (RBWH) and the former Chair of the SHPA Queensland Branch (2018-21). A member of the SHPA General Medicine Leadership Committee, Paul has held a variety of pharmacist positions across practice settings and is dedicated to a thorough understanding of the profession and the important roles that practitioners have in the delivery of patient care.

Dr Kate O’Hara is the Lead Pharmacist for Women Youth and Children at the Canberra Hospital. Kate has a special interest in Neonatal pharmacy and conducts research in this area and is part of the SHPA Women’s and Newborn Health Leadership Committee. A Residency Program preceptor and ClinCAT evaluator, Kate is involved in a variety of teaching and training activities, with experience in clinical pharmacy, oncology pharmacy services, medicines information and compounding. Kate is also a member of the Pharmacy GRIT Editorial Committee.

Dr Lisa Pont is Associate Professor (Pharmacy), Discipline of Pharmacy at the Graduate School of Health, University of Technology Sydney (UTS) in New South Wales. Lisa is a registered pharmacist and, prior to joining academic pharmacy, was the Senior Clinical Pharmacist at Central Coast health where she coordinated Clinical Pharmacy across four hospitals north of Sydney. Lisa is an SHPA Fellow and has been a SHPA Board member since 2016. With a strong interest in building research capacity among hospital and clinical pharmacists, Lisa is a member of SHPA's Research Leadership Committee and Geriatric Medicine Leadership Committee.

Olivia Rofe is the Program Director – Pharmacy at Eastern Health, and has over 20 years of public hospital experience both in Australia and the United Kingdom. She has a Masters in Clinical Pharmacy, a Professional Certificate - Health Systems Management and is a Fellow of SHPA. One of the first SHPA clinCAT trained evaluators in Victoria, Olivia has supervised, mentored and/or overseen workforce training programs for more than 10 years. Olivia is passionate about putting patients/clients/consumers first and understanding their experience of services ‘in their shoes’, working with service users to optimise their experience and health outcomes. Other areas of interest include improving the delivery of clinical pharmacy services through developing diverse intergenerational workforces and harnessing the ongoing digitisation of workplaces to optimise health outcomes.

Board Sub-committees

Finance, Audit and Risk Committee

David Brennan (Chair), Peter Fowler, Deirdre Criddle, David Butt and Olivia Rofe.

Nominations Committee

Peter Fowler (Chair), Lindsay Cane, Jacinta Johnson, Lisa Pont and Kate O’Hara.

Contact the Board


PO Box 1774, Collingwood Victoria 3066 Australia