Kay Dunkley wins prestigious 2023 Fred J Boyd award

Kay Dunkley wins prestigious 2023 Fred J Boyd award

Kay Dunkley – leader, researcher and passionate mental health advocate – received the prestigious Fred J Boyd Award this morning for her unwavering dedication to the pharmacy profession and inspirational leadership of the Pharmacists’ Support Service.

The Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA)’s highest honour recognises Ms Dunkley’s pharmacy career spanning forty years, over which she has held numerous roles in pharmacy governance and lent expertise to more than 25 research projects.

Presenting the honour onstage in the first morning plenary at Medicines Management 2023, the 47th SHPA National Conference (MM2023), SHPA President Tom Simpson praised Ms Dunkley’s ability to use the ‘power of conversation’ to support the mental health and wellbeing of pharmacy professionals.

‘A hospital pharmacist at heart, Ms Dunkley has led the Pharmacists’ Support Services as it’s Executive Director since 2005 always supporting the profession, and particularly assisting us to navigate the turbulent years of the pandemic.’

‘Kay’s kindness, energy and expertise radiates across the profession, continuing to drive the growth and success of PSS and all those who use its important peer-to-peer support services.

‘Kay goes above and beyond to engage pharmacists from all backgrounds, no matter where they live, to provide support and guidance in the most challenging of circumstances. Her impact on the mental health and wellbeing of our profession is immeasurable.

‘The 2023 Fred J Boyd Award is testament to her compassionate leadership, driven by her dedication to service improvement through her clinical expertise and ongoing contributions to research. She embodies the very best of our profession and is a truly deserving recipient of this prestigious award.’

Ahead of her oration at MM2023, Ms Dunkley said she ‘was humbled by the award, thank you to SHPA and to my pharmacy colleagues.’

‘There is much to be proud of as a pharmacist, and nothing more so than the sense of community we have fostered as a profession. This award is for all of those who help others.’